{Review} My birthday…3 months ago @ Decant Restaurant

What’s a girl got to do when she just got back from Whyalla, straight into Food Service Placement then a further ten weeks at Lyell McEwin? Slow with blog updates of course! I have to admit this is a bit too much. A review from three months ago? You betcha. It was really good though, so good that I can write a pretty accurate account of the meal.

Decant Restaurant’s location makes it a hidden gem right smack in the centre of the city. Located on Flinders Street and tucked inside Clarion Hotel, pedestrians (if there are any) would walk past, maybe peek a little into the dining room, and walk away thinking ‘hmm…cute little cafe. Looks nice.’ and then forget about it. Behind the spotless ceiling-to-floor glass windows, there are a smattering of tables and chairs. The lighting was warm, the bar inviting.

The sleek hotel lobby provides an entrance to the restaurant. We were greeted by a friendly face and led to our table. The menu was simple yet tantalising. In true ‘our’ style, we ordered four dishes to share.

Ciabatta was served immediately after our orders were placed and menus collected. Soft and fluffy, the bread was a nice start to the highly anticipated meal ahead.

First up, the entree-sized coffee-cured duck breast
with roquette, shaved ashgrove cheddar, toasted walnuts, pear and balsamic vinaigrette. The aroma of coffee was unfortunately lacking but the duck was cooked to perfection, lightly seared on the outside, nicely pink on the inside. The salad was a refreshing cut for the heavier duck flavour.

Next up, mains. This photo did it no justice whatsoever (how I wish I had gotten a camera for my birthday *hint*).  The Bekshire pork rib eye on parsnip mash and apple radicchio salad was the BEST pork I have ever eaten. Melt in your mouth tender, seasoned to perfection and crunchy crackling. I am unfortunately spoiled for all other pork dishes for the rest of my life (unless I find another one as good). Again, the salad and mash proves wonder accompaniments to the Dish Of The Day! 11/10!

Hay Valley lamb rack with rosemary-scented mash, caramelized onions, steamed asparagus and jus was a pleasant surprise. The lamb cutlets were slightly pink in the middle – just the way I like them. My favourite component of the dish was however, the caramelised onions. Slightly crunchy and wonderfully sweet!

The last dish was the Decant pasta of the day: scallop and scampi fettuccine. I have always wondered about scampi. What are they? Aren’t they just prawns? Large prawns? This was really good. The clever chef added orange bits into the sauce, providing a wonderful lift to the dish. The seafood was fresh and sweet, a delight to have.

The service was impeccable. On hearing that we were to share, the waiter zipped behind the bar and produced plates and cutlery. Throughout the night, we were asked a couple of times if we were enjoying our meals and if we require anything else – all in very polite manner.

I believe the menu changes seasonally. The last I checked (a few minutes ago), it was entirely different to what I had back in June. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. Adelaide’s true hidden gem.

Decant Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Decat Restaurant, Clarion Hotel | 264 Flinders Street, Adelaide, 5000 | (08) 84125666