{Recipe} Kueh Chap

I really am not very good with updating, am I? Hopefully I will have more time on my hands and more motivation now that my Internet connection is no longer running slower than an old snail.

Today I will share with you a peep of Kuching culture – kueh chap. Affectionately dubbed ‘pork spare part soup’, it is essentially a salty and mildly herbal broth with bits and pieces of porcine, dried tofu, hard-boiled egg and slippery rice sheets. By bits and pieces I meant thinly sliced ears, little nubbins of pork intestine (of some call them chitterlings) and slices of pork shoulder. Heaven in a salty bowl!

Essentially a Kuching Chinese hawker dish, it is impossible to find in Adelaide. With a really bad craving for kueh chap, the only way was to make it myself. Boy was I proud of this dish!

Kueh Chap (Pork Spare Part Soup)

Original recipe from Food Makes My World Just That Bit Rounder

 

2Tb oil

6 cloves garlic

4 inch ginger, sliced

3Tb black peppercorn

2tsp cloves

3Tb star anise

4 cardamoms

2 cinnamon sticks

1Tb Chinese five spice powder

Water

5 Tb dark soy sauce

5 tsp light soy sauce

2Tb Splenda

1kg Thai rice noodles (uncut)

400g pork shoulder

400g pork intestines, cleaned thoroughly

6 dry tofu/taupok, sliced

4 hard-boiled eggs, de-shelled and halved

Heat oil in large pot. Add garlic, ginger, peppercorn, cloves, star anise, cardamom,  cinnamon and Chinese five spice to pot and fry on medium-high heat until fragrant. Add 3 litres of water to pot and bring to boil. Add soy sauces and Splenda (or sugar). Continue to boil for 15 minutes and reduce heat to simmer (covered) for 3 hours.

In a smaller pot, bring water to boil and add shoulder pork. Continue to boil until pork is no longer bloody. With a sharp knife, slice meat thinly.

I have never in my life cleaned intestines before so Google is my best friend. I found this pictorial guide heaps helpful! After the process of cleaning and boiling, cut the intestines to one-inch segments and set aside.

After the long simmer, pour the soup through a metal sieve into another pot to collect and discard spices. Add tofu, sliced shoulder meat and intestines into broth and bring to boil. Reduce heat and simmer covered for 2 hours. Taste and adjust to the way you like it. I added a few dashes of white pepper (Sarawak white pepper – the best in the world!).

Remove rice noodle sheets from packet and cut into large squares. Boil in hot water until soft. Arrange noodle sheets, half a boiled egg, intestines, pork slices and tofu into bowl. Ladle soup over noodles and serve hot.

Happy cooking!

