{Recipe} Crab cakes!

I’ve always been fascinated with crab cakes ever since I read about them from a novel set in Chesapeake Bay, Maryland. Crabby, zesty and packed with a spicy herby punch, I’d always imagined it to be.

Inspired but poor, I grabbed two cans of crab from the Asian grocer instead of opting to buy fresh. Studying the recipes from Google and knowing my pantry like the back of my hand, I knew that the end result would not be the classic Maryland Crab Cake as I had too many ingredients missing. We’ll just have to make do, won’t we?

Crabby Cakes

Makes 6 medium

2 cans (340g) canned crab meat, drained

1/2c breadcrumbs

2 large eggs

2tsp Worcestershire sauce

Dash pepper, salt, dried herbs

4 stalks chives, finely chopped

2tb mayonnaise

1tsp wholegrain mustard

2tsp oil

Thoroughly mix all ingredients except oil in a bowl. Shape into patties. Heat oil on non-stick pan on medium heat. Slide patties onto pan until bottoms are golden brown. This takes about 5 minutes. Very gently flip cakes to brown on the other side and continue until cooked through. Serve with a dollop of mayonnaise.

I’m in crabby heaven!

 

