{Recipe} Chocolate chip brownies

I DID IT AT MY FIFTH ATTEMPT! To make ice-cream. It must have been the lousy freezer. Or the recipes.

Or the weather.

I refuse to point the finger at myself (hey, I persisted didn’t I?). Oh the emotion when I first sighted the beautiful, fluffy, creamy pale green churning away gleefully. I was shrieking my lungs out, jumping around the house and pumping the pavement along the entire street – almost.

I made the brownies as a fall-back plan in case my ice-cream fell through but it turned out that both complemented each other perfectly. Today I will share with you the recipe for the wicked brownies and save the best for later. 🙂

Chocolate Chip Brownies

Modified from Taste Food

Makes 16 large chunky morsels

1c butter

400g dark chocolate, roughly chopped

3/4c plain flour

1tsp baking powder

1/2tsp salt

3 large eggs

1/2c sugar

2tsp vanilla extract

1c chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 150 degrees Celsius. Line a 9in pan with baking paper and grease. Add butter and chopped chocolate in a microwave safe bowl. Melt in microwave for 2 minutes on high, longer if required. Stir mixture to ensure butter and chocolate are thoroughly incorporated. In a separate bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt. In a large bowl, whisk eggs, sugar and vanilla until frothy and pale. Add chocolate mixture to egg mixture and stir thoroughly. Sift flour mixture into batter and stir until combined. Add chocolate chips and stir. Pour batter into pan. Bake for 20 minutes at bottom 1/3 of the oven until top is set. Toothpick will not come out clean. Cool on rack. When completely cooled, cut and serve. With matcha ice cream!

Matcha ice-cream recipe will be uploaded soon!

