{Recipe} Zesty Orange Cake

 This recipe is my go-to tea cake that I’ve been baking for Chinese New Year celebrations, afternoon teas or just when I’ve got too many oranges to know what to do. Now, I bought three kilos of oranges for a dollar a few weeks ago and they have been sitting in my shelf for too long. I can imagine their vitamin C slowly degrading and being wasted while I ponder about their demise.

A barbie (cue – yes, barbecue in Australia sounds like your childhood plastic doll) prompted me to bake this fragrant zingy cake. A great way to pack some vitamins in (maybe) after a heaty bout of charred meats. Great with a cup of tea on a nice summer afternoon with a romantic paperback too. Sounds like a good idea right at this very moment.

Zesty Orange Cake

2c self-raising flour

120g butter

2 eggs

1/2c sugar

Zest and juice of 2 oranges

Preheat oven to 140 degrees Celsius. Line 9in baking tray with baking paper. In a bowl, mix all ingredients on high speed for 3 minutes. Pour batter into the tray. Make sure you scrape every single drop! Bake for 40 minutes or until the top is firm and toothpick comes out clean. Set aside to cool for 20 minutes before turning over on a wire rack to cool completely before cutting.

Easy as!

 

