{Recipe} Vegetarian dinosaur pasta

Ever had those alphabet-shaped noodles in your chicken noodle soup when you were younger? I remember I used to have those occasionally for supper and it took me ages to finish my soup as I was busy trying to find all the letters to spell my name. Fun times.

I chanced upon these cuties when I was browsing the pasta aisle last week at Coles. Apparently they have been on the shelves since quite some time ago but why have I never noticed them? Nevertheless, I grabbed a bag in glee (for only $1!) and wondered what I would do with them.

So after a week of heavy meals and protein overload, I decided to make a vegetarian dish. Hey, I’ve got dinosaurs in the pantry so why not make vegetarian dinosaurs? So my T-rexes were forced to become vegetarians, but the brontosauruses and the stegosauruses were spared the pain and humiliation – because they were already herbivores. Haha.

Vegetarian Dinosaur Pasta

Serves 4

3 cups uncooked dinosaur pasta (or any pasta in your pantry)

1tsp oil

1 onion, diced

5 cloves garlic, minced

5 medium carrots, grated

4 cups fresh mushrooms, roughly chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

4Tb tomato paste

Herbs and spices to taste*

Boil pasta according to packet instructions. I usually take 1/4 off the recommended time for al dente. Heat oil in a pan on medium heat. Add onion and garlic, fry until aromatic. Add carrots and mushrooms, stir fry until mushrooms are about cooked. Add canned tomatoes and tomato paste. If sauce is too thick, add 1/4 cup of water at a time until desired consistency. Add herbs and spices to taste, I used about a teaspoon of basil and a few dashes of pepper. Simmer for about 30 minutes or until sauce thickens to your desired consistency. Add pasta to sauce and mix thoroughly. Enjoy!

*Salt is not required in tomato-based sauces as tomatoes are naturally higher in sodium. If you find it bland, time to cut down on your salt intake, mate!

