{Travel} Sydney revisited

Lets have a little intermission from South Korea, shall we?

So, I had a brief 5-day stop in Sydney en route from Seoul to Adelaide. It was just as I remembered a year ago. Cosmopolitan. Exciting. Tantalizing. A melting pot of cultures and hence food, Sydney was nothing short of a gastronomic paradise. Believe it or not, the entire trip was planned with and around my checklist of must-eats. AHA!

For my first meal in Sydney, I made the pilgrimage to the coveted Gumshara Ramen. Rumour has it that the ramen master boils 120 kilograms of pork bones a day to make the soup base. I dare not confirm the authenticity of the claim but the end product was really something to behold.

The broth was completely saturated with collagen and other tasty but artery-clogging bits. I decided to live dangerously and opted for the limited pork rib ramen with an additional soft-boiled seasoned egg. The noodles were bouncy and the generous slab of pork rib was seared to perfection with a melt-in-your-mouth texture. Thumbs up. My only concern was for the almighty salt content of the dish, skimming dangerously close to my threshold limit for all things salty. Think spikes in your blood pressure. Note to self: if I ever return to Gumshara Ramen, I shall request for the reduced salt option. Gah!

Another Sydney icon that made it into my list was Pancakes on the Rocks at where else but The Rocks. The pancakes were thick and fluffy, as any good pancake should be, and drizzled with cherry brandy sauce topped with cherries for the Blackforest Cherry pancake and smothered with chocolate sauce, ice cream, walnuts and banana for the Hot ‘N’ Troppo pancake. Being the responsible people we are, four of us shared two stacks: a healthier option than being a glutton and polishing off a whole plate individually. Remember, moderation is key.

Apart from the must-eats, we picked up random stuff while strolling along the many streets of Sydney. Such as the very delicious mango and vanilla ice-cream filled mini crepes. Dee-lee-cious! One of the best things about being flexible when travelling is the joy of discovering little gems along the way.

And of course, being the hardcore Harry Potter fan I am, I paid a visit to the Powerhouse Museum for the very first Australian Harry Potter Exhibit. The famous flying car from the Chamber of Secrets greeted me while hanging in midair. I rubbed my hands in glee as I entered the exhibit. Actual props and clothing used in the movie franchise were on display, accompanied by various detailed descriptions of the items and scenes. A shame that photos were not allowed or else I would have gone shutter crazy. At the end of the exhibit, I bought some Bertie Bott’s Every Flavour Beans for keepsakes.

Guess what? The really do have crazy flavours like earwax and earthworm and dirt and vomit! Eew!

Gumshara Ramen on Urbanspoon

Gumshara Ramen | Eating World Harbour Plaza Shop 209 25-29 Dixon St
Haymarket, NSW 2000

Pancakes on the Rocks on Urbanspoon

Pancakes on the Rocks | 4 Hickson Road, Sydney, NSW 2000 | (02) 96834322