{Review} ABC Brickworks


The first time I popped by to ABC Brickworks Food Centre, it was National Day. ‘Lo and behold most of the shops were shut for the day, including Fatty Cheong’s. Coming across this recommendation at one of ieat‘s forums, I decided that I just had to have my fair share of proteins from this place. The man and I got luckier on our second visit and this time there was a snaking queue right in front of the stall. I have come to learnt that in Singapore, long queue = great stuff. So judging by the line of humans, this place must be awesome.

Witness the glistening saucy sheen atop the mountain of rice. Does that not look short of crazy awesome to you? The roast duck was really good with crispy skin and thoroughly seasoned flesh. The fat was also almost completely rendered off in the roasting process. The roast pork was equally good stuff. Crispy cracking and smooth flesh left me wanting more! Of course, what would be roast pork without the fats right? Not! I restrained myself from gobbling down the artery-clogging stuff and it was still really good. That does say something, doesn’t it?

The man had Fatty Cheong’s famous char siew – the fatty version. I snuck a piece from his plate and I have to say it was hands down one of the yummiest char siew’s I’ve had in this little island. Juicy, flavoursome and carrying the slightest of charred goodness, this is the epitome of char siew. Since it was that good, I was forbidden to have more in fear that there would be none left on the man’s plate. Ha!

The man disappeared for a while and came back with two nice-looking bowls of iced-desserts. For his man-belly was a mango and lychee shaved-ice. The report was that it was pretty tasty and does just the trick to wash down the greasy fatty meal.

Unbeknownst to me, the man actually went and got me the star of Jin Jin Hot/Cold Dessert – the Cendol. The syrup was thicker than usual, almost treacle-like, and of course the aroma of Gula Melaka gave the entire dessert a huge plus point. The rest of the dessert was a medley of shaved ice, coconut milk and green squiggly cendol. It was good but the next time I’m in town, I would really want to have the Gangster – the awesome marriage of mango and durian! Pwhoah!

Fatty Cheong |ABC Brickworks Food Centre, 6 Jln Bukit Merah, #01-120 | (65) 94281983

Jin Jin Dessert | ABC Brickworks Food Centre, 6 Jalan Bukit Merah, #01-20 | (65) 94788733

